Judiciary.—The provincial courts consist of (1) the supreme court, which is a court of appeal and also a circuit court, and (2) the county courts. Presiding over the supreme court are a chief justice and six other judges. One of these is a judge in equity, who also acts in divorce cases and one is admiralty judge of the exchequer court of Canada. The county courts have a limited original jurisdiction and an appeal jurisdiction from probate and magistrates' courts in certain cases. The judges of this court are seven in number, each having a district of jurisdiction covering a county or group of counties and holding terms of court in the county towns of their respective districts.

The judges of the supreme and county courts are appointed and paid by the Dominion Government, but the procedure of the courts in all civil matters is regulated by provincial legislation. The purely provincial courts and courts of probate have jurisdiction over wills and intestate estates. Stipendiary and police magistrates' courts and courts of justices of the peace are also under provincial jurisdiction. The judges of these courts and justices of the peace are appointed by the local government and are paid, in some cases by salaries and in others by fees. The sheriffs, clerks, registrars and officers of all the courts are appointed by the provincial authorities.

In criminal cases the jurisdiction and procedure of all the courts are fixed by federal statutes. The procedure as to the selection of grand and petit jurors, of revisers of voters' lists and assessment courts is fixed by the provincial statutes. In each county, and in some counties in one or more districts of a county, are offices for the registry of deeds and of all documents pertaining to transfers of or affecting titles to real estate as well as those creating and discharging liens on personal property.

II.—NEW BRUNSWICK.

The province of New Brunswick in all essential features of provincial administration is similar to its neighbour, Nova Scotia. The province entered Confederation with a Legislative Council of 40 members holding their seats for life, a Legislative Assembly of 40 members and an Executive Council of nine members. Under its powers of changing the provincial constitution, the Legislative Council was abolished by an act passed on April 16, 1891. The Assembly at present is composed of 47 members, and the Executive Council is composed of (1) the Premier, (2) the Minister of Lands and Mines, (3) the Minister of Public Works, (4) the Provincial Secretary-Treasurer, (5) the Minister of Agriculture, (6) the Minister of Public Health, and (7) the Attorney-General.

In New Brunswick the subject of public instruction is under the management of a Board of Education consisting of the Lieutenant-Governor of the province, the members of the Executive Council, the Chancellor of the University of New Brunswick and the Chief Superintendent of Education.

Municipal Institutions.—In the matter of municipal institutions and the establishment of responsible local government, New Brunswick has passed through several stages of development very similar to those of Nova Scotia, and the old régime of county government by magistrates, who were in no way responsible to the people, in time gave way to more modern forms. Municipal incorporation was rendered optional by an early Act of 1851, which, however, had but little effect beyond the division of counties into parishes with a certain amount of local auto-